Three Kirby leaders elected to the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences

The Kirby Institute is pleased to announce the election of three of our celebrated leaders to the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (AAHMS).

Scientia Professor John Kaldor, Professor Anthony Kelleher and Professor Andrew Grulich joined an esteemed cohort of 77 renowned scientists, clinicians and educators newly elected as Fellows of the Academy at the first Annual Scientific Meeting at the Australian National University in Canberra on 6 October 2015.

“I am delighted on behalf of the Academy council to welcome the new Fellows to the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences,” said Professor Ian Frazer, President of the Academy. “Their election as Fellows reflects the international standing of their contribution to health and medical science through research, through leadership, and through service. Their future contribution to the field will contribute to ensuring that users of the healthcare system in Australia are offered the best quality of care using the latest in advances in health research.”

Fellows provide the Australian Government, industry and the community with independent advice on issues relating to evidence-based medical practice and medical research in Australia.

The academy was established formally in June 2014 with the election of 15 initial Fellow and Council members, with the patronage of Professor Sir Gustav Nossal.  On 25 March 2015, a further 116 Fellows representing a range of disciplines in health and medical research were inducted – among them was Scientia Professor David Cooper, Director of the Kirby Institute.

“I am joined by my colleagues at the Kirby Institute in congratulating all of the new Fellows on this significant appointment,” said Professor Cooper. “We are also immensely proud to see such strong representation of leadership from the Kirby Institute among the newest members of the Academy.” 

Date published: 
Friday, 9 October 2015
Laurie Legere
+61 (2) 9385 9987