Professor Lisa Maher and Professor Andrew Lloyd elected as Fellows of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences

The Kirby Institute congratulates Professor Lisa Maher AM, Head of our Viral Hepatitis Epidemiology and Prevention Program and NHMRC Senior Research Fellow and Professor Andrew Lloyd AM, Head of our Viral Immunology Systems Program, who have been elected as Fellows of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences for their outstanding leadership and contributions to health and medical science in Australia.

Professor Lloyd is recognised as a distinguished infectious diseases physician-scientist for his major contributions to clinical practice and laboratory-based studies in hepatitis C infection as well as the chronic fatigue states associated with infection and cancer. These studies have led the research direction internationally as well as delivered important clinical practice innovations in Australia. 

Professor Maher is also recognised for her work around hepatitis C infection, having led the first ever HCV preparedness study. She is influential and respected in the field through her leadership and application of epidemiology and anthropology to important public health problems. 


Professor Lisa Maher with Professor Ian Frazer receiving her award

Professor Lisa Maher with Professor Ian Frazer.


Professor Lloyd and Professor Maher join a distinguished group of professionals from a range of disciplines within the health and medical sciences, who contribute to a range of clinical and research fields.

Their induction will take place during the Academy’s third Annual Scientific Meeting, held at the South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute taking place in Adelaide today.

“Health and medical research undertaken by the new Fellows of the Academy, and enabled by government and philanthropic funding, will help to ensure quality and equitable health care as we enter the age of precision medicine”, said Professor Ian Frazer, President of the Academy.

Date published: 
Thursday, 19 October 2017