Professor David Cooper announced as inaugural Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences

The Kirby Institute is pleased to announce that our Director, Professor David Cooper AO, has been elected as a Fellow of the newly formed Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences (AAHMS).

Professor Cooper joins an esteemed cohort of more than 130 renowned scientists, clinicians and educators elected to the Academy to provide the Australian Government, industry and the community with independent advice on issues relating to evidence-based medical practice and medical research in Australia.

Election to the Fellowship is based on demonstrated professional achievement in a field related to health and/or medicine and the exercise of outstanding leadership in the science of health and medicine.

The Academy was established formally in June 2014, with the election of 15 initial Fellows and Council members, under the presidency of Professor Ian Frazer and with the patronage of Professor Sir Gustav Nossal.

Read more about the AAHMS here.

Date published: 
Wednesday, 8 April 2015
Laurie Legere
+61 413 476 647